How to meditate

Dhyana or meditation is a higher state of Yoga that may be attained only after the practitioner has prepared themselves in a step by step manner Meditation is a way to unite with our Supreme nature and maybe defined as fixing the mind on the Supreme with devotion and discipline. It is the seventh of the 8th steps in the Ashtanga Yoga of Patanjali and is part of the Antaranga or inner steps of Yoga. Meditation in a transcendental state, where if there is awareness, it is awareness of awareness itself, a state beyond the mind. How to meditate is a common question we ask ourselves or look answers for online only to be confronted with technical terms such as Kundalini Yoga, Mindfulness meditation and Vipassana along with all sorts of yoga videos. This course introduces you to simple meditation techniques that initiate you on the path of discovering yourself and is a sort of gateway to the world of meditation and sadhna.

Instructor: Ananda Balayogi

Start Course
Enrolled Students


Suggested Time

36 weeks







Unit 1: Asanas

Asanas for Meditative Sitting 11 min

This chapter consists of the 5 main meditative postures or asanas in yoga. The Sukha Asana, Vajra Asana, Siddha Asana, Ardha Padma Asana and Padma Asana. They can be combined with various mudras as well as pranayamas and help combine all the important elements of yoga.
Show 6 items

Unit 2: Mudras

Mudras for meditation 19 min

Based on the principle of Ayurveda, yoga mudras are regarded as a healing modality. The Sanskrit word mudra is translated as gesture or symbol. A mudra may involve from a simple hand position to the whole body. Mudras are generally used in combination with Pranayama that enlivens the flow of prana in the body by stimulating different parts. Relating directly to the nerves, mudras create a subtle connection with the instinctual patterns in the brain and influence the unconscious reflexes in these areas. The internal energy is in turn balanced and redirected, affecting change in the sensory organs, glands veins and tendons.
Show 9 items

Unit 3: Trataka

Trataka: Yogic gazes 11 min

Trataka - also called Yogic gazing - is a practice where the gaze is fixed on an object for some time. This fixed gazing is a method of meditation which involves concentrating on a single point such as a candle flame or black dot. It is used in yoga as a way of improving eyesight, increasing concentrattion powers and mental resolve as wel as stimulating the ājňā chakra.  
Show 4 items

Unit 4: Anthara Dharana

Anthara Dharana 12 min

The Sanskrit word Dharana literally means to concentrate or to deeply focus ones attention. It is the practice of intentionally channeling ones thoughts on a certain thing. Dharana is the fixing of the mind on something external or internal. The mind can be fixed externally on the picture of Lord Hari, Lord Krishna or Lord Rama or on any other object or point. Internally it can be fixed on any Chakra or any part of the body or on any abstract idea. Having controlled the Prana through Pranayama and the Indriyas through Pratyahara, you should try to fix the mind on something. In Dharana you will have only one Vritti or wave in the mind-lake. The mind assumes the form of only one object. All other operations of the mind are suspended or stopped. Different objects of Dharana and their effects are given in the subsequent lessons. According to the Hatha Yogic school, a Yogi who can suspend his breath by Kumbhaka for 20 minutes can have a very good Dharana. He will have tranquillity of mind. Pranayama steadies the mind, removes the Vikshepa and increases the power of concentration. Fixing the mind on something is Dharana or concentration of mind. Dharana can be done only if you are free from the distractions of mind.
Show 4 items

Unit 5: Dhyana

Pranava Dhyana 10 min

This practie is a one pointed concentration on the form and Nada or sound of the sacred AUM, known as the Mantra of all Masters. This can be done from any of the sitting postures but make sure that your back is erect. It is best to do this after perfrming a few rounds of conscious deep breathing so that the mind is n a calm state.
Show 2 items

Chakra Dhyana 6 min

Our subtle body is made up of twelve energy vortices known as the Dwa Dasha Chakras. There are six higher Anda Chakras and six lower Pinda Chakras. The six Pinda Chakras namely Mooladhara, Swadhisthana, Manipura, Anahata, Vishuddha and Ajna offer us an excellent opuurtunity for contemplation and meditation.
Show 3 items

Unit 6: Japa

Anthara Japa 6 min

Japa which translates as reciting, is the method of repeating a similar thought in your head over and over again. It helps develop concentration, freeing oneself from any distractons. They can either be Om japa, which requires the repitition of the Om mantra while the Ajapa Japa which literally means a recital without the effort of a recital as it comes so naturally.
Show 3 items

Unit 7: Prana Kriya & Brahma Muhurta Meditation

Prana Kriya 4 min

Breath is the life force that sustains our life. Human body is physical manifestation of one's consciousness and in that, primarily, Central Nervous System (brain and spinal cord) is densely concentrated with abundant consciousness. So, all the yoga practices always revolve around CNS with an intention being to grow ones awareness towards consciousness
Show 2 items

Brahma Muhurta Meditation 6 min

Brahma muhurta - is a period of two muhurtas (time unit of forty-eight minutes), or about one and a half hours before dawn. In the Vedic tradition this period is considered as the ideal time for spiritual practices like prayer and meditation. Waking up during brahma muhurta also has many health benefits.
Show 2 items

Need Help?


Have a suggestion?